Home  •  FAQ  •   Forums

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:39 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Hi From Australia
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 6:20 am 

Hi,

I'm a 37 year old male from Melbourne Australia. I've been working on my depression for the last 20 years only to find out about a year ago that I have BPD. It was such a relief to find out why nothing I tried in the past worked.

I'm working really hard on my DBT course and my progress is going ahead in leaps and bounds. Still have work to do but have hope of a normal life for the first time in my adult life.

Feel free to contact me.

MJ

Post subject: Re: Hi From Australia
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 6:30 pm 
Senior Community Leader
Senior Community Leader

Hi Tronic and welcome! I'm glad you're making progress with DBT. Nice to think about a life without chaos, isn't it?

It's kinda quiet around here at the moment, but make yourself at home. If you have any questions, ask away.

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 3:08 pm 

Hi Sari,

Thanks for your reply. I was wondering if you could help? I've been told at the DBT centre that my particular form of BPD is quite mild. That said I'm well aware I have issues I need to continue work on. I think finally being diagnosed marked a huge turning point in my life. Since then, things seem to have finally started to come together. Although the progress has been painfully slow.

Much of the literature I've read relates to severe BPD sufferers. I was wondering if there are any particular sites for BPs who have progressed, some or most of the way towards normality. I ask this because I have spent the last few years in therapy and interestingly, many of the parts of myself I chose to work on, were those covered in the DBT therapy (self esteem, assertiveness, non-judgment of myself and others & behaviour modification).

I feel I'm at a crossroads of sorts, not where I was and not where I want to be. It's both exiting a terrifying at the same time.