Home  •  FAQ  •   Forums

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:17 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: So glad I found this site
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 5:40 am 

I have been looking for a good forum, I am so happy I found this site. I feel like a lot of the other mental health forums are a gripe session or there are too many people acting out! I really want to focus on recovery & need some guidance. So I hope this will put me in the right direction.

Some history: I'm 29yr old mother and wife. I'm a registered nurse. Very successful on the outside, very broken on the inside. Basically I have really been in the dark & completely oblivious to my problems untill about 2 years ago, when I had an affair on my husband and it almost ruined my marriage. After that I started trying to figure out why I did it (my husband is probably the perfect man) & realized I have had impulsive behavior my whole life, drugs & alcohol, cheated in every relationship I've been in, suddenly changing jobs for no reason, moving for no reason, can't maintain friendships, well you get the picture.

I saw two therapist who totally didn't get the big picture, kept treating symptoms and didn't recognize I had a mental illness. I was the one that finally caught on after my older brother was diagnosed bi-polar, it kind of hit my like a lightening bolt, why hadn't I realized it before! So I got a psychiatric eval & she said I have BPD, which pretty much fit the bill. Got on some homeopathic meds (because I'm scared of psych meds) which help me big time, but unfortunately I was doing so much better that my therapist told me I didn't need regular visits anymore. I didn't argue with her at the time because I was feeling so good it seemed like a great idea. But now 3 months later I am realizing that pills aren't going to fix a lifetime of bad habits, as my symptoms are starting to rear their ugly head again!