Home  •  FAQ  •   Forums

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:01 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Recovery/Relapse
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2012 8:03 pm 

I was diagnosed with BPD 9 1/2 years ago. I had been doing quite well for the past 3 years. I've done CBT and DBT. I was working, really enjoying life, smiling and had been so happy. Things in my life to had stabilized and I did not have to access the mental health services. In the spring of 2011 I had the opportunity to help out a psychology student and I was able to take all the psychological tests that I had taken 9 1/2 years ago and it was determined that I did not have any symptoms of mental illness and was told that I was in remission. I was doing so well that in the fall of 2011 I was discharged from therapy.

In March of this year I had rotator cuff surgery and I believe the pain from the surgery, lack of sleep, loosing my job and being denied benefits from the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board have made things difficult to handle. 4 weeks ago I started having suicidal ideation, self-harm thoughts and thoughts of revenge. I am so full of hate and I'm so depressed, the anxiety has come back and I'm scared. I'm having a difficult time dealing with what is going on and the help that I've been trying to ask for has not been so kind. I've seen my family doctor, he increased my anti-depressant and advised me to go to the ER if things got worse. The crisis line has not been helpful at all, more annoying than anything. I called a Psychology Clinic and was able to speak to someone, but felt that I wasn't really being validated. I left the clinic feeling very confused. I've gone to the ER, only to leave more anxious then when I arrived and feeling utterly humiliated. Things really haven't changed with the Mental Health System where I live.

I had hoped that by now, these mental health symptoms would have settled down, but today they are stronger than ever.

Post subject: Re: Recovery/Relapse