Home  •  FAQ  •   Forums

It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 2:51 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: am i really not alone?
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 4:56 pm 

Since i was 17, i have had problems with depression and anxiety. i was diagnosed with bipolar disorder because my mood would frequently change. i would be on top of the world one day and wanting to end my life the next.
as an adolescent i was a straight A student and a 'goodie two shoes' (no swearing, no drinking, no sex).

once my problems with depression and anxiety began i started 'blood letting', next i would overdose impulsively without really knowing why. i started college and would have difficulty coaxing myself to go to class-if i missed one class i would be so frustrated with myself i would not attend any classes. i spiraled down eventually attempting to end my life. soon after that, during one of my first experiences with drinking, i was date raped... after that i became permiscuous. because i thought that if i could please someone sexually, they would want to keep me around...

I was eventually put into an apartment funded by the state and became basically a ward of the state. things still didn't improve and i was temporarily placed in a group home. my father, who was at that time in the military, got stationed elsewhere. Though my relationship with my parents was difficult, i was released from that states custody so that i could move with my family.