Home  •  FAQ  •   Forums

It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 6:35 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Trouble making, developing, and maintaining friendships
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 11:53 am 

The title pretty much sums it up. But I guess to further explain I have had this problem for most of my life. But has been at its worst in the last couple of years. I didn't really have many problems back in my highschool years but because I am an adult student at a community college it is hard making any friends there. As for more previous workplace I made a lot of friends and was close to people but it never made it outside of the workplace. And now at my current store I can barely even maintain a workplace friendship. It sucks. I have my boyfriend, my sister, and one other friend that I have been friends with for like 10 years. But other than that, that's it. I have major issues with females. I am not going to lie- I tend to be jealous, threatened but at the same time intimidated and feel inferior towards women of my own age. This causes some major problems. I am also socially anxious and sometimes find it difficult to even talk. I joined a local support group for those with social anxiety but they always meet on weekends and I work on weekends :( Some of the people that I onced called friends seem distant and are caught up in their own world that I am not a part of because I'm not there. For example, one of my friends has been attending a university that I had originally planned on attending once I finish community college but I am now planning on attending a different college because of the driving distance. But now when I talk to him it just isn't the same. We have such different lives. He is a university student with a large group of friends and we just don't really relate anymore.