Home  •  FAQ  •   Forums

It is currently Mon Apr 29, 2024 11:45 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: I really don't get this
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 10:44 pm 
Senior Community Leader
Senior Community Leader

I am writing this as an individual. Yes, I'm an SCL, but this is not something I have discussed with anyone else in or out of leadership.

I have been here longer than anyone else besides Ash and Nik -- since the spring of 2002. I've been a mod or an Admin or an SCL or whatever title might have been bestowed, from ezboard through a new board, back to ezboard and then here, since some time in 2003. Five years now. Over all that time, we have certainly had ups and downs, disruptive members, meltdowns of all kinds including among the various people in leadership positions. But never have I seen anything like what has been going on in the last few months.

I honestly and truly don't get this.

I have kept mostly silent on the board lately because I totally don't know what to say to people.

The leadership team is not doing *anything* different than we ever have. Nothing. But all of a sudden we can't do anything right. We are supposedly an "us" who has painted a whole group of members totally black; we aren't listening; there are rules that aren't rules; we are wrong when we fail to intervene in this or that situation, but then when we try to figure out what we could have done differently, we are blown off; we are ruining the board; and so on (and on).

I'm not saying that there haven't been situations where we could have handled some things better, but that has *always* been true over the five years that I have been here, and there has never been this kind of stuff going on. Never. And I can't begin to figure out what's different now.