Home  •  FAQ  •   Forums

It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 8:20 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Fight with student that has BPD
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2008 8:22 am 

This is my first post to BPDRecovery: forums. I have BPD. My old therapist diagnosed me with it, but didn't want to put it in my chart. He thought it would be best to keep it private.

I'm a spiritual teacher. I have a small group of students that come over to my home twice a week to study with me and pray. One of my students has BPD (a mental health professional in my group diagnosed her). Last night she had one of her "fits". Occasionally, things set her off, and she starts talking abusively to me, accusing me of all sorts of terrible things, and working herself into a state of extreme emotional distress.

Myself, I've been working on (with the help of my therapist) learning that it's okay to verbally defend myself when I am being attacked. All my life I have been afraid of confrontation. Well, last night, I fought back and defended myself. And the result - I've felt horrible since then. I hate this woman student. I am thinking of ending the group. I figure I created the group to create a place for people to pray and learn about God, not a place for people to abuse me, nor a place for people to "act out".

I feel awful. I have deep, powerful feelings of anger and hatred toward this woman for speaking to me in such a cruel and disrespectful way. I'm thinking of tossing her out of the group. However, generally speaking, she has been a good friend of mine. That is why I feel really betrayed by her in a big way. When her BPD kicks in, she goes crazy, and abuses me (and the rest of the people in the group). I don't feel I can just "let her off the hook" by saying she had an episode . . . I mean we're all adults and we're responsible for the way we treat other people. I have BPD and I don't yell at people.

I put a call into my therapist to see if he could talk to me today.