Home  •  FAQ  •   Forums

It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 6:47 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Split Personality
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:51 pm 

I am a teacher and do a wonderful job teaching. But I am also a mess in my personal life. Some of the people whom I confide in say, "I can't believe you are a teacher." When trying to help me they say things like, "What would you tell your students?" I get so embarrassed. Does anyone else out there do well in there professional life but fall apart in their personal life? They say "those who can do, and those who can't teach."

Post subject: Re: Split Personality
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 5:26 pm 
Senior Community Leader
Senior Community Leader

I can relate. I've always done extremely well in school and work environments. It's when you start getting into personal relationships that I fall apart.

Now, why do you get embarrassed when someone asks you what you might tell your students? I would think that might be an effective way to get out of your own head and try and be more objective.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 5:57 pm 

i'm not a teacher, but i know exactly what you mean. i am the sole provider of income in my marriage, so i have to work full time, all the time, and i can't fall apart at my job. people assume that because i work in a corporate office and dress the part, that i must be "normal" and that there is nothing really wrong with me. it makes me feel embarrassed as well when people do find out the truth about me... i just do my crying in the bathroom where no one can see.

but you shouldn't be embarrassed. it is a mark of strength that you can go through what you go through and still go to your job to teach those kids. you should be proud of what you do.

erin

anais nin

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:05 pm 

Quote:
When trying to help me they say things like, "What would you tell your students?" I get so embarrassed.